AEA Educational Foundation Announces Scholarship Winners

AEA Educational Foundation Announces Scholarship Winners

AEA Educational Foundation Announces Scholarship Winners

The Aircraft Electronics Association's Educational Foundation announces the names of 26 individuals who were awarded scholarships for the 2024-25 academic year. The AEA Educational Foundation annually awards scholarships to students pursuing a career in avionics or aircraft maintenance, as well as students from AEA member companies.

The awards and their individual recipients are as follows:

  • Bill Barnes Memorial Scholarship: Austin Reenders of Oostburg, WI
  • Chuck Freeland Memorial Scholarship: Cooper Hadaway of Santa Margarita, CA
  • Chuck Peacock Memorial Scholarship: Tyler Kelly of Kansas City, MO
  • David Arver Memorial Scholarship: Micah Chin of Germantown, MD
  • Dutch and Ginger Arver Memorial Scholarship: James Conkle of Washington, PA
  • Field Aviation Scholarship: Hillary Labustro of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
  • Garmin Scholarship: Garrett Hickson of Eagan, MN
  • Garmin – Jerry Smith Memorial Scholarship: Hayden Harvey of Earleville, MD
  • Gene Baker Memorial Scholarship: Keith Falkner of Standish, ME
  • Gogo Business Aviation Scholarship: John Kendall of Iron, MN
  • Jim Cook Honorary Scholarship: Tristen Dyke of New London, CT
  • Johnny Davis Memorial Scholarship: Camelia Dias of Midvale, UT
  • Kent McIntyre Memorial Scholarship: Stone Zink of Rutland, ME
  • Kevin Miesbach Memorial Scholarship: Calvin Wickersham of Council Bluffs, IA
  • Lee Tarbox Memorial Scholarship sponsored by Pacific Southwest Instruments: Cullen Sloss of Weirton, WV
  • Marshall Temple Memorial Scholarship: John McNaughton of Trafford, PA
  • Mid-Continent Instruments and Avionics Scholarship: Andrew Haynes of Cary, NC
  • Monte Mitchell Scholarship: Logan Akers with Signature TechnicAir in Greensboro, NC; Elijah Baker with Baker Avionics in Grants Pass, OR; Tatum Stewart with Air Sense Avionics in Scappoose, OR; and Troy Harris with Midwest Avionics in Lee's Summit, MO
  • Pat Napolitano Memorial Scholarship: Joshua Dykstra of Pittsburg, PA
  • Sporty's Foundation Scholarship: Nadine Gallero of Kansas City, MO
  • Susan T. Friedle Scholarship: Gretchen Pals of Daytona Beach, FL
  • The Stone Foundation Scholarship: Zachary Minchew of Carterville, IL
  • Universal Avionics Scholarship: Raul Cornejo of Fort Lauderdale, FL

The Foundation was created in 1990 to enhance, promote and secure the future of aviation maintenance by furthering the education of students, technicians, members of the AEA and others as determined by aviation industry needs. Since its inception, the AEA has awarded more than $1.5 million in scholarships.

Individuals interested in one or more of these scholarships for the 2025-26 academic year may download an application after Oct. 1, 2024, at

About D.O.M. Magazine

D.O.M. magazine is the premier magazine for aviation maintenance management professionals. Its management-focused editorial provides information maintenance managers need and want including business best practices, professional development, regulatory, quality management, legal issues and more. The digital version of D.O.M. magazine is available for free on all devices (iOS, Android, and Amazon Kindle).

Privacy Policy  |  Cookie Policy  |  GDPR Policy

More Info

Joe Escobar (
Editorial Director

Greg Napert (
Publisher, Sales & Marketing

Bob Graf (
Director of Business, Sales & Marketing