NBAA Applauds Selection of Pioneering Garmin Autoland Technology for 2020 Collier Trophy

The National Business Aviation Association (NBAA) congratulates Garmin International on earning the prestigious 2020 Robert J. Collier Trophy for Garmin Autoland, the world’s first certified emergency autonomous system to safely fly and land an aircraft without human intervention.

“The Garmin Autoland system marks a significant improvement in civil aviation,” says Jim Albaugh, chairman of the National Aeronautic Association (NAA) in awarding the Collier Trophy. “Its ability to take over an airplane with a disabled pilot and land it safely will save many lives in the future.”

Autoland can be activated automatically or by a passenger in the event of an emergency, such as pilot incapacitation. Once activated, the system flies the aircraft to the most suitable nearby airport and runway while avoiding terrain and adverse weather, initiates a stabilized approach, and lands the aircraft.

Following an in-aircraft Autoland demonstration last year, NBAA president and CEO, Ed Bolen, wrote to the NAA Collier Trophy Selection Committee to nominate the technology for the award.

“After personally pushing a button at 10,000 feet over Kansas and coming to a full stop on the centerline of Johnson County Executive Airport with no human input,” Bolen wrote, “I realized I had just experienced one of the greatest safety technologies in the history of aviation.”

To date, Autoland is installed in the Cirrus Vision SF50 G2 single-engine jet as well as Piper M600/SLS and Daher TBM 940 turboprop singles.

Earlier this year, Garmin executive vice president and managing director of Aviation, Phil Straub, discussed with NBAA the tremendous potential for autonomous systems to further enhance the safety of flight.

“Pilots are naturally prone to distraction, fixation, task saturation, loss of situational awareness, among other things,” he noted. “While computerized systems also have limitations, when blended and integrated properly with the crew, they provide for highly safe operation of the aircraft by offsetting the limitations of each other.”

First awarded in 1911, the Collier Trophy is awarded annually “for the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America, with respect to improving the performance, efficiency and safety of air or space vehicles, the value of which has been thoroughly demonstrated by actual use during the preceding year,” according to NAA. Past Collier recipients include Orville Wright, Neil Armstrong and the Apollo 11 team as well as the Gulfstream G650, the Commercial Aviation Safety Team (CAST) and Cessna Aircraft Company and the Citation X Design Team.

To read the NBAA Business Aviation Insider New Horizons feature, “Advancing Safety Through Automation," visit

About D.O.M. Magazine

D.O.M. magazine is the premier magazine for aviation maintenance management professionals. Its management-focused editorial provides information maintenance managers need and want including business best practices, professional development, regulatory, quality management, legal issues and more. The digital version of D.O.M. magazine is available for free on all devices (iOS, Android, and Amazon Kindle).

Privacy Policy  |  Cookie Policy  |  GDPR Policy

More Info

Joe Escobar (
Editorial Director

Greg Napert (
Publisher, Sales & Marketing

Bob Graf (
Director of Business, Sales & Marketing